The Birth of a Nation [1915] +1


The Birth of a Nation (1915)

So here I was programming on one screen with Everybody Hates Chris with Chris Rock playing and he makes a lot of references, I find it educational to look it up instead of just letting my ignorance go unchecked. One of the episodes he mentions Birth of a Nation and I had to see it to get the historical perspective.  Once again a film gets a bonus point for being historical for a grand rating of 1 star.

“If we don’t know our history, we are doomed to repeat it.”

I watched this on double speed from the YouTube site so perhaps with the full gloom music it’s better than the comical fast forward speed.  Yes you can click the wheel in the lower right corner of the playback and speed it up. Who wants to sit through 3:13:15 of propaganda films.

On the plus side you know where the word “Lynching” comes from.    and it’s free: https://youtu.be/I3kmVgQHIEY

And if you, like me, prefer to understand history then it’s worth a watch.   …or if you’re trying to recruit clansmen for the Klu Klux Klan.  But now I understand the joke; well played Chris Rock, well played.  Not that I’m going to review it but the Everybody Hates Chris episode got 5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

